NOTD: Piggy Polish (updated and edited)

I deleted the previous post about piggy paint as I realised I was making too many edits  on it. I finally had the opportunity (and inclination) to do my usual research.

Image

I needed a break from fumes and was awaiting the arrival of these piggy paint polishes (All That Razz and How Merlot Can You Go?). This brand is marketed as “natural non-toxic nail polish”. On their site it says,

Piggy Paint is a natural, eco-friendly nail polish designed for fancy girls. Its non-toxic, hypoallergenic formula makes it safe to use on all piggies.

AD likes polish too and I thought this could be a fun thing for her as these are supposedly “as safe as mud” .

Having said the above though, I also came across this article online from a retailer about a toxic chemical (“Neolone 950″ or “Methylisothiazolinone”) in piggy paint. and here, another blogger finds concern on it as well. Both used the EWG’s Skin Deep Database, which I have referred to for other products as well, such as sunscreen. I think I should try to use it more often and make better choices on a regular basis.

Well, on to the review:

The polish really does smell a bit like mud and hardly has any smell otherwise. Same with the remover (almost odorless I mean), which hardly did anything to my previous coat of Deborah Lippmann. It also takes some elbow grease to remove the piggy paint itself.

The formula of the polishes arent bad and they are easy to apply, but I put on countless coats (4 or more, i really lost count) to achieve this effect.

One reason I hadn’t tried water based polishes earlier were that friends had told me that they washed off easy, sometimes after a shower. It seemed a waste of effort. However, lately I’ve seen bloggers that managed to have them on for days. Me? Mine were chipped after a day, from putting on a safety belt. It also chipped badly after a hot shower.

As you can see, AD’s didnt fair much better.

So, will I continue using it? I don’t know if I believe there to be a truly non toxic 100% safe polish out there. I do not know if this is safer than conventional polishes in every sense of the word. It doesn’t smell and that scores a point, so there is more comfort in using this. If one wants to be safe, perhaps one shouldn’t use polish at all?

Leave a Reply

